Board of Governors

UCHRI | Annual Report

Angela Davis, Chair

UC Santa Cruz

Angela Davis is a Professor Emerita in the History of Consciousness Department and the Feminist Studies Department at UC Santa Cruz.

Mahasti Afshar

National Advisory Board
Levante Cultural Center

Mahasti Afshar is a Los Angeles-based arts and culture executive.

Cathy Cohen

University of Chicago

Professor Cohen is the David and Mary Winton Green Professor of Political Science and chair of the department at the University of Chicago.

Herman S. Gray

UC Santa Cruz

Professor Gray is the Chair of the Sociology Department at UC Santa Cruz.

Randal Kline

SF Jazz

Randall Kline is the Founder and Executive Artistic Director of SF JAZZ.

George Lipsitz

UC Santa Barbara

Professor Lipsitz is a professor in the Department of Black Studies at UC Santa Barbara.

Saree Makdisi

UC Los Angeles

Professor Makdisi is a professor in the Department of English at UC Los Angeles.

Toby Miller

UC Riverside

Professor Miller is a Professor Emeritus in the Media and Cultural Studies Department at UC Riverside.

Jann Pasler

UC Santa Barbara

Professor Pasler is a distinguished professor in the Department of Music at UC San Diego.

Ato Quayson

University of Toronto

Professor Quayson is a Professor and Director of the Centre for Diaspora and Transnational Studies at the University of Toronto.

AbdouMaliq Simone

Goldsmiths, University of London

AbdouMaliq Simone is a professor at the Max Planck Institute for the Study of Religious and Ethnic Diversity and visiting professor of sociology at Goldsmiths College, University of London.

Diana Taylor

New York University

Professor Taylor is a Professor in of Spanish and Portuguese and Performance Studies at NYU Tisch School of the Arts.

Siva Vaidhyanathan

University of Virginia

Professor Vaidhyanathan is the Robertson Professor of Modern Media Studies at the University of Virginia.

David Theo Goldberg

UCHRI Director

Professor Goldberg is a Professor in the Department of Comparative Literature at UC Irvine, and the Director of UCHRI. He is an ex officio member of the UCHRI Board of Governors.